HDHomerun Prime: Does Argus TV support encrypted channels?

General talk about ARGUS TV
aperry

HDHomerun Prime: Does Argus TV support encrypted channels?

Post by aperry » Wed Sep 25, 2013 4:26 am

Hi all, I'm looking for a little help here. Does Argus TV support encrypted channels which are "copy freely" when using the HDHomerun Prime?

A little background: I've been running for several months with Argus TV and XBMC using an HDHomerun Dual (not Prime). However recently my provider (Comcast) informed me that they will be encrypting my channels starting today. So I did some research and purchased an HDHomerun Prime and configured it last weekend. Everything worked great with the Prime. However, today I believe the channels became encrypted and they no longer tune in XBMC. When trying to play a channel, I get a popup message stating "Scrambled Channel". I've tried re-scanning and re-mapping, and of course reloading the EPG data in XBMC, but I get the same error each time. Argus does find the services. They also seeom to play fine inside of the HDHomerun app (which uses VLC).

So, before I spend too much more time on this....*should* it work? According to the HDHomerun tuner info, the channels that I am trying to tune are "unrestricted" for the CCI value.

If it should work, are there any tips? I've configured all of the settings on the HDHomerun Prime wiki page.

Thanks in advance.

aperry

Re: HDHomerun Prime: Does Argus TV support encrypted channe

Post by aperry » Wed Sep 25, 2013 3:29 pm

As an update, I now have the HDHomerun Prime working with NextPVR and XBMC. I'm only mentioning this because I think it validates that there are no issues with the HDHomerun Prime config. I would still prefer to use Argus TV if possible. I'm interested in any suggestions here. Thanks.

andrewNZ

Post by andrewNZ » Thu Sep 26, 2013 12:12 am