Missing Channels in Scan

Installing and setting up ARGUS TV
EdTheC

Missing Channels in Scan

Post by EdTheC » Sat Jun 14, 2014 2:15 am

I am a newbie, so please forgive any outright newbie-ness :-)

Anyway, when performing a channel scan, it does not find some obvious channels like 2, 4, 5. It does find 7, 11 (I live in LA area). I've tried increasing the time to 20 seconds for the scan, and they still are not found. I am using the Happauge tuner in a PC (2250).

What is odd is that I am trying to move from WMC to XBMC. WMC has no trouble finding and showing the above mentioned channels. Neither does the supplied Happauge Win TV program. The signal strengths for these channels are all very good, so thats not the issue (as shown by the Happauge signal strength app).

So why aren't those channels being found/how can I get them added? Side note: I tried NextPVR as well, and it has the same issue.

TIA for any suggestions/ideas.

Christoph21x

Re: Missing Channels in Scan

Post by Christoph21x » Tue Jun 17, 2014 9:32 am

Hi Ed
Which scanning freqs do you use in the dropdown? Are you using NIT-scanning or ¨normal¨ scan?
The simplest cause may be, that the frequencies, on which those channels reside, are not in Cables.xml.
If so - could you get a list from your provider? Then we could add it - and (if that´s the cause), the chans would be found.

By the way: welcome to Argus! :)

Greetz from Switzerland - Chris
"One must still have chaos within oneself, to give birth to a dancing star." (F. Nietzsche)

EdTheC

Post by EdTheC » Tue Jun 17, 2014 5:08 pm

I use all frequencies in the drop down. I have tried both NIT and not. BTW, I am using an OTA (antenna) in the US. The scan reports (for example) that it is scanning channel 2, 4, etc but then "No signal" until it hits channel 7, and then lists the 3 stations associated with it.